Clinical Guidelines


10. Management of histologically confirmed high-grade squamous abnormalities

10. Management of histologically confirmed high-grade squamous abnormalities


GUIDELINE UPDATES - This guideline was last updated 7/1/2022


According to the two-tiered nomenclature for cervical histology recommended by the Lower Anogenital Squamous Terminology (LAST) standardization project[1] and adopted by the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia, non-invasive human papillomavirus (HPV)-associated squamous lesions are classified as:

HSIL can be further subcategorised, according to the grade of cervical intraepithelial neoplasia (CIN), as HSIL (CIN2) and HSIL (CIN3). 

HSIL of the cervix is characterised histologically by mitotic figures in epithelial cells undergoing cell division, nuclear abnormalities including enlarged nuclei and irregular nuclear membranes, and little to no cytoplasmic differentiation in the middle third and upper third of the epithelium.

Invasive squamous cell carcinoma is categorised as:

  • SISCCA: superficially invasive squamous cell carcinoma (previously termed microinvasive carcinoma)
  • SCC: squamous cell carcinoma

See also Chapter 3. Terminology.




  1. Darragh TM, Colgan TJ, Cox JT, Heller DS, Henry MR, Luff RD, et al. The Lower Anogenital Squamous Terminology Standardization Project for HPV-Associated Lesions: background and consensus recommendations from the College of American Pathologists and the American Society for Colposcopy and Cervical Pathology. J Low Genit Tract Dis 2012 Jul;16(3):205-42 Available from:

Back to top

WEBSITE UPDATES - This website was last updated 7/1/2022