Cancer Council Australia

Larger Text Smaller Text Print

Shade for Secondary Schools Grant Program

cancer council | eftpos

We are currently working hard to ensure that all shade projects for the 2013/14 campaign are successfully completed. At this stage we are not in a position to offer the Shade for Secondary Schools Grant Program again in 2015.

If you would like any further information on what your school can do to help reduce the risk of skin cancer, please contact your local Cancer Council office.

Congratulations to the successful schools!

Cancer Council Australia has awarded 45 grants as part of the Shade for Secondary Schools Program 2013/14, made possible thanks to a $1 million donation received from eftpos.

The successful schools are:

Successful Schools
State/Territory School name
ACT Cambell High School
NSW Camden Haven High School
NSW Cecil Hills High School
NSW Condell Park High School
NSW Lumen Christi Catholic College
NSW Maitland Christian School
NSW Marsden High School
NSW Mary Brooksbank School
NSW McCarthy Catholic College
NSW Norwest Christian College
NSW St Josephs Banora Point
NSW Sydney Technical High School
NSW Trangie Central School
NSW West Wallsend High School
NT Nhulunbuy High School
NT St. Phillips College- Alice Springs
QLD Assisi Catholic College
QLD Corinda State High School
QLD Horizons College
QLD Mabel Park State High School
QLD Proserpine State High School
QLD Spinifex State College
QLD St Peter Claver College
QLD Tullawong State High School
SA Murray Bridge High School
SA Our Lady of the Sacred Heart College
SA Tatachilla Lutheran College
TAS Cressy District High School
VIC Borinya Wangaratta Community Partnership for disengaged rural students
VIC Bundoora Secondary College
VIC Charlton College
VIC Eaglehawk Secondary College
VIC Irymple Secondary College
VIC John Paul College
VIC Kew High School
VIC Korumburra Secondary College
VIC MacKillop Catholic Regional College
VIC Mornington Secondary College
VIC St Francis Xavier College
WA Boyup Brook District High School
WA Dalyellup College
WA Geographe Education Support Centre
WA Grace Christian School
WA Holy Cross College
WA Waroona District High School


An overwhelming number of schools applied for grants (we received over 380 applications), and we want to thank every secondary school that submitted an application.

We sincerely appreciate every school’s effort to demonstrate the need for shade in their school and for actively promoting SunSmart behaviour among students.

Together, with eftpos, we’re helping to protect students from harmful UV rays and reduce our future generation’s risk of skin cancer.

Next steps

The key milestones are outlined in the table below:

Key milestones
Date Milestone
14 August 2015, Friday (5pm AEST) All projects must be fully completed (mid Term 3)
30 October 2015, Friday (5pm AEST) All successful applicants must have provided evidence of completion and satisfied media commitments (early Term 4)

What is the Shade for Secondary Schools Grant Program?

The Shade for Secondary Schools Grant Program provides grants to secondary schools across Australia to help them improve sun protection measures, aiming to support the prevention of skin cancer across Australia.

Cancer Council received over 380 applications from secondary schools across Australia for shade grants of up to $25,000 each, to enable them to purchase shade for their school. The grants were allocated proportionally across the nation based on state and territory school populations, with two additional schools being selected by eftpos from the remainder of funds otherwise not allocated.

eftpos Giveback campaign

The Shade for Secondary Schools Grant Program has been generously funded by eftpos through their annual Giveback campaign. eftpos has donated $1 million towards the Program, enabling Cancer Council to provide at least 45 Shade Grants nationally. If you want to find out more about the eftpos Giveback campaign, please visit:

Got a question?

If you have any questions, please see the FAQs document

Terms and conditions for the Shade for Secondary Schools grant program are available here

This page was last updated on: Tuesday, February 24, 2015